Google Custom Search

Atlanta, GA – The Black College Football Hall of Fame has announced that Bowie State senior quarterback Amir Hall has once again won the the Deacon Jones Trophy, being named the 2018 Black College Football Player of the Year.BSU v VSUFB5 Amir HallHall

Black College Football Hall of Fame Trustees James "Shack" Harris and Doug Williams made the announcement during the 2019 Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Atlanta on Saturday night (Feb 16). The Award recognizes the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University (HBCU) that embodies the rich tradition of athletic excellence and integrity associated with HBCUs.

Hall led the Bulldogs to a second consecutive berth in the NCAA Division II playoffs and a first round win, in what was the most successful season Bulldogs Football history. He threw for 4,152 yards and 38 total touchdowns, and set the CIAA all-time leading passing record in yards and touchdowns along the way. Hall was named the CIAA Offensive Player of the Year and was invited to play in the NFLPA Collegiate Bowl.

After three years as the Bulldogs starting quarterback, Hall owns nearly every school passing record, including passing yards, touchdowns and passing efficiency. Additionally, he is a two-time winner of the SBN Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year Award.

“The four finalists this year had outstanding seasons,” said Harris. “Amir had one of the most prolific seasons for a quarterback in Black College Football history, and we congratulate him on winning this prestigious award for the second time.”

The Player of the Year was voted on by a five-member Selection Committee, which is composed of Black College Football Hall of Fame Co-Founders James “Shack” Harris and Doug Williams, Sheridan Broadcast Network’s Director of Sports Ty Miller, former USA Today sports writer Roscoe Nance and ESPN College Football Analyst Jay Walker.

Hall was also the recipient of the Deacon Jones Trophy for the 2017 season. The inaugural winner in 2016 was Tarik Cohen of North Carolina A&T State University, who is now a star on the Chicago Bears. Tarik was named First Team All-Pro and selected to the NFL Pro Bowl after this past season.

Other Black College Football Player of the Year Award Finalists included DE Darryl Johnson (North Carolina A&T State University), QB Noah Johnson (Alcorn State University) and QB Caylin Newton (Howard University).


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square