Google Custom Search

Hampton guard Jermaine Marrow has been named BOXTOROW Division I National Player of the Year for the second year in a row. Marrow, a senior from
Newport News, Va., finished fourth in Division I in scoring, averaging 24.8 points per game, and 11th in assists per game (6.5). He was the only
player in Division I in the top 15 in both categories. Marrow helped lead the Pirates to a fifth place finish in their second season in the Big
South Conference and a finals appearance in the championship game. Marrow becomes the first player to repeat as winner in the awards history.box2row logo

Livingstone guard Roger Ray has been named BOXTOROW Division II Player of the Year. The senior from Raleigh, N.C. led the CIAA and ranked 14th in
Division II in scoring (23.6), led the CIAA in assists (5.0), and was second in the CIAA in three-point field goal percentage (.367). He had six
games in which he scored 30 or more points including a 45-point performance against Virginia State (12/5/19), where he also recorded a triple double with 10 assists and 10 rebounds.

North Carolina A&T acting head coach Will Jones and Tennessee State head coach Brian “Penny” Collins have been named BOXTOROW Division I Coaches of the Year.
Jones took on the roll as acting head coach in late December and led the Aggies to a 17-15 overall record and a second place finish in the MEAC.
His record after taking over the program was 14-5. Collins, in his second year, led one of the best turnarounds in Division I, as the Tigers
finished the season 18-15, 9-9 in OVC play. The Tigers had been invited to play in the College Invitational Tournament (CIT). TSU went 9-21 during
the 2018-19 season.

Miles coach Fred Watson was named BOXTOROW Division II Coach of the Year. In his second season at Miles, Watson has led the Golden Bears to the SIAC Tournament championship for the second straight season. Miles finished the 2019-20 season 24-4 and won 16 of its last 17 games. Watson becomes the second coach to win the award as head coach of two different teams (Lonnie Blow), winning the award as head coach at Benedict in 2013.
BOXTOROW has administered the All-America teams since 2009.

First Team Division I All-Americans
Jermaine Marrow, Hampton (G, 6-2, Sr., Newport News, Va.)
Jibri Blount, North Carolina Central (F, 6-7, Sr., Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Ben Stanley, Hampton (F, r-Soph., Baltimore, Md.)
Kameron Langley, North Carolina A&T, (G, 6-2, Jr., Greensboro, N.C.)
Devonte Patterson, Prairie View A&M (F, 6-7, Sr., Bridgeport, Texas)
Ronald Jackson, North Carolina A&T (F, 6-8, Sr., Clay County, Fla.)
Cletrell Pope, Bethune-Cookman (F, 6-9, Sr., Northport, Ala.)
Gerard Andrus, Prairie View A&M (G, 6-5, Sr., Lafayette, La.)

Second Team Division I All-Americans
Charles Williams, Howard (G/F, 6-6, Jr., Richmond, Va.)
Jermaine Bishop, Norfolk State (G, 6-1, r-Sr., Queens, N.Y.)
Ivy Smith, Jr., Grambling State (G, 6-0, Sr., Tacoma, Wash.)
Roland Griffin, Jackson State (F, 6-5, Sr., Aurora, Ill.)
Tyrik Armstrong, Texas Southern (G, 5-10, Sr., Houston, Texas)

First Team Division II All-Americans
Glen Abram, West Virginia State (G, Jr., Chicago, Ill.)
Avery Brown, Miles (G, Jr., Clermont, Fla.)
Robert Colon, Winston-Salem State (G, Sr., Jacksonville, N.C.)
James Eads, Tuskegee (G, Sr., Orlando, Fla.)
Darweshi Hunter, Central State (G, Fr., Cincinnati, Ohio)
Terrell Leach, Virginia Union (G, Sr., High Point, N.C.)
Cayse Minor, Johnson C. Smith (G/F, Sr., Winston-Salem, N.C.)
Roger Ray, Livingstone (G, Sr., Raleigh, N.C.)
Chase Shellman, Spring Hill (F, r-Sr., Louisville, Ky.)

Second Team DII All-Americans
Joseph Allen, Elizabeth City State (F, Sr., Miami Gardens, Fla.)
Lydell Elmore, Livingstone (F, Jr., Branchville, S.C.)
Greyson Kelley, Shaw (G, Jr., Raleigh, N.C.)
Randy McClure, Albany State (F, Sr., Paulding, Ga.)
Jordan Peebles, Virginia Union (G/F, Jr., Emporia. Va.)
Jalen Seegars, Fayetteville State (F, Jr., Greensboro, N.C.)
Jelani Watson-Gayle, Miles (G, Jr., London, England)
Deaquan Williams, Lincoln (Pa.) (F, Jr., Camden N.J.)
Andrew Corum, Virginia State (F, Sr., Leesburg, Va.)
Saiquan Jamison, Bowie State (F, Sr., Upper Marlboro, Md.)

BOXTOROW DI Player of the Year: Jermaine Marrow, Hampton
BOXTOROW DI Coaches of the Year: Will Jones, North Carolina A&T and Brian
Collins, Tennessee State
BOXTOROW DII Player of the Year: Roger Ray, Livingstone
BOXTOROW DII Coach of the Year: Fred Watson, Miles



Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square