Google Custom Search

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Committee has announced the field of 64 teams that will compete in the 2020 NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Championship.2019 ncaa bkb logo

Twenty-three conferences, including the CIAA and SIAC have been awarded automatic qualification. The remaining 41 teams were selected at large by the committee.

CIAA champion Fayetteville State and SIAC titleist Benedict received automatic bids while Bowie State and Virginia Union got at large bids

Seven eight-team regionals will be played at on-campus sites March 13, 14 and 16. The Atlantic region will have two four-team sites as a result of a split regional with men’s basketball. Games will be played March 13, 14 and 17, with the championship game played at the site of highest remaining seed.

FSU, seeded #8 in the Atlantic Region, is scheduled to face top-seeded Indiana University of Pennsylvania Friday March 13 at 12 noon. #4 Bowie State vs. #5 Virginia Union will follow at 2:30 pm on the same court.

Benedict, seeded #6 in the South Region, will travel to Florida to face #3 Tampa also on Friday at noon Friday.

The winners of each of the eight regionals will advance to the 2020 NCAA Division II Women’s Elite Eight will be held at the Birmingham CrossPlex in Birmingham, Alabama, March 24, 25 and 27. Miles College and the City of Birmingham will serve as hosts.


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square