Google Custom Search

Jacksonville, Florida-For the first time in its 155-year history, Edward Waters University (EWU) has become a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). The news chronicling EWU's inclusion as a new member was shared during a university press conference Monday afternoon.ewc tiger 2012

Relatedly, EWU has also officially accepted an invitation to become a member of the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) after an 86-year separation. Edward Waters was previously a member of the SIAC from 1930-1935. Notably, Monday's historic announcement distinctively marks Edward Waters University as the only NCAA Division II Historically Black College or University (HBCU) in the State of Florida.

"This incredibly significant achievement is yet another important milestone in our continued ascendancy and transformation towards becoming one of America's "best-in-class" higher educational institutions of choice," said EWU President and CEO, Dr. A. Zachary Faison, Jr. "Today's announcement is demonstrable evidence of our progress in realizing our Eminence 2025 strategic vision and aim towards advancing our overall institutional brand and comprehensively raising our collective competitive profile through the platform of athletics," Dr. Faison said. "This is a truly watershed moment for our entire university community, athletics program and our dynamic student-athletes."

As a new NCAA Division II member, Edward Waters will begin the first year of a three-year provisional process in August. When all benchmarks are met, the University will be eligible for full membership in the NCAA in August of 2024. Nevertheless, the recent announcement and acceptance of EWU by the NCAA into the NCAA transitional process affords the university and its student-athletes the ability to compete at the NCAA Division II level in all sports effective immediately (i.e., Fall 2021).

"Our diligent work in this process has brought us to this historic moment in the long and storied history of EWU Athletics," remarked Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Dr. Paul A. Bryant. "We are overjoyed to be accepted as a provisional member of the NCAA Division II and even more so excited to be returning home to the SIAC." "The opportunities for success for our athletic programs are endless and we look forward to working with and competing against such storied programs in the conference."

The addition of Edward Waters will increase the SIAC's membership to 15 institutions. The conference's current membership includes Albany State University, Allen University, Benedict College, Central State University, Clark Atlanta University, Fort Valley State University, Kentucky State University, Lane College, LeMoyne-Owen College, Miles College, Morehouse College, Savannah State University, Spring Hill College, and Tuskegee University.

"We are pleased to welcome back Edward Waters University as a member institution of the SIAC and congratulate President Dr. A. Zachary Faison, Jr., Athletic Director Paul Bryant and the entire EWU community as they make their transition into NCAA membership." remarked SIAC Commissioner Gregory Moore.

The SIAC sponsors 14 championship sports, including six women's sports (Basketball, Cross Country, Softball, Tennis, Track & Field, and Volleyball) and eight men's sports (Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Tennis, Track & Field, and Volleyball).


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square