Tuesday August 4, 2015
Custom Search

Wrapup from Florence: Hall of Fame induction and Harlon Hill Trophy results
Tue Dec 18, 2012 - 8:57am    Print
Onnidan's HBCUSports | Wrapup from Florence: Hall of Fame induction and Harlon Hill Trophy results

In addition to the appearance of Winston-Salem State in the National Championship Game, HBCUs were also  represented on two other fronts of Division II Football.NCAA DII logo

The Division II Football Hall of Fame inducted former Fort Valley State standout Tyrone Poole in its Class of 2012 on December 14 at the 27th Annual Harlon Hill Trophy and Division II Football Hall of Fame Banquet in Florence, Ala.

Poole was a consensus All-American pick at cornerback as a senior at FVSU in 1994 and was a first-round draft pick by the Carolina Panthers in the 1995 National Football League (NFL) Draft. He went on to a 13-year career in the NFL and was a part of two Super Bowl Championship Teams with the New England Patriots.

During his career at FVSU, Poole helped lead the Wildcats to two Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) Championships and was a First-Team All-SIAC pick in 1993 and 1994. He was named SIAC Defensive Player of the Year in 1994 and was named All-American by the Associated Press and the American Football Coaches Association. He was named to the Division II Team of the Quarter Century in 1997.

His selection as the 22nd overall pick in the 1995 draft made him the first FVSU player to be drafted in the first round of an NFL draft. He was named to the NFL "All Rookie Team" in 1995 and helped lead Carolina to a 12-4 regular season record and its first NFC West Title in only the franchise's second year of existence.

During his NFL career he started 112 games, made 406 tackles and intercepted 18 passes that he returned for 231 yards. He is the second Division II Football Hall of Fame inductee from FVSU, joining Greg Lloyd who was inducted in 2001.

Poole, who joined Kutztown's John Mobley as the only two individuals inducted this year, is the author of the recently released book, "Ultimate Success in the Game of Life," and he is the founder of the Tyrone Poole 38 Foundation.

Tuskegee running back Derrick Washington was a finalist for the 2012 Harlon Hill Trophy awarded to the Most Outstanding football player in Division II. Shippensburg (Pa.) University junior quarterback Zach Zulli claimed the Trophy at last Friday's banquet.

The 2012 SIAC Football Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year, Washington, was one of eight finalists selected from a field of 24 candidates within the four Super Regions across Division II. The finalists were selected by the NCAA's Division II sports information directors during regional voting and were placed on the national ballot where 155 of the division’s SIDs selected Zulli as the award’s 27th winner.

In his first and only season at Tuskegee, Washington, a transfer from University of Missouri, has been the lightning rod for Tuskegee’s 10-2 record this year. As the seventh overall rusher in the nation, the Raymore, Missouri native, led the conference in rushing with 1,399 yards and 13 touchdowns while leading Tuskegee to its 26th SIAC Football Championship. He also averaged 8.1 yards per carry and rushed for more than 100 yards in six games, while running for 200-plus yards three times this season. In his last two outings, Washington rushed for 208 yards against Miles and 224 yards against Fort Valley State in the SIAC Championship game.

He finished his career rushing for 185 yards and catching four passes for 63 yards against Elizabeth City State in Pioneer Bowl XIV.

The Hill Trophy is named for a former University of North Alabama player - Harlon Hill - who was a standout with the Lions from 1950-53 before going on to fame in the National Football League with the Chicago Bears.


Points Player 1st Place
2nd Place
3rd Place
202 Zach Zulli JR QB Shippensburg 52 14 18
138 Michael Hill SR RB Missouri Western State 23 26 17
101 Franklyn Quiteh JR RB Bloomsburg 8 27 23
68 Dustin Vaughan JR QB West Texas A&M 10 14 10
64 Taylor Housewight SR QB Ashland 7 14 15
61 Kevin Rodgers SO QB Henderson State 7 12 16
48 Derrick Washington SR RB Tuskegee 10 4 10
32 Chris Bowden SR WR Wingate 2 8 10
Extensions by Siteground Web Hosting

Last Updated ( Wed Jan 16, 2013 - 4:57pm )